Outsourced support!
I was sent to this link today by a spamming autobot on twitter - 10besthosting-blahblah-websites.com. The top rated site has a real nice design and offers the usual oversold everything. I decided to use the chat link on the site to see what they're really about. Transcript follows:
Ariel: Hi Zubin. My name is Ariel, how are you today?
Zubin: Hi Ariel
Ariel: Hi. How can I help you today?
Zubin: I wanted to know if there is any kind of limitation in your plans
Zubin: everything unlimited sounds somewhat too good to be true
Zubin: what's the fine print?
Ariel: Could you please provide me the Web URL, from where you have contacted us for Chat?
Zubin: which company are you from ?
Zubin: hello ?
Ariel: I need the URL in which you have clicked on Live Chat.
Ariel: We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. But, we need your co-operation as we are in the process of enhancing the Chat icons on our Web site and during this period we want identify the exact page from where you have contacted us. This will help us to determine the list of pages from where we usually get the chats and organize the Chat icons in a better way.
Zubin: i clicked the chat link on your home page
Ariel: Yes, please provide me the URL.
Zubin: of your home page ???
Zubin: is this some kind of outsourced support?
Ariel: We have sister concern company's.
Ariel: Hence, please provide me the URL in which you have clicked on Live Chat.
Zubin: never mind. thanks.
I had never considered outsourcing our support before. I'm now sold on never considering it :)
Try this later ..
opendns.com
Afterthought - yes, I'v been way too lazy to update this space or post anything new. Might as well use it as a notes-to-myself space.
update on opendns - tried, tested and rocking. am gonna recommend this to all those people having trouble with ISP DNS servers, particularly Airhell!
billibing
*ring
"hello net..intergritty?"
"NETTIGRITTY, yes?"
"yes yes. i have made payments in your account"
"Please email billing@nettigritty with the details"
"ok ok, i will mail"
"Thank you"
*click
So far so .. so. he did mail very promptly .. to billibing@nettigritty... billibing. billibing! billibing? the aftermath ..
[18:12] zubinsaigal: what on earth is billibing ?
[18:12] djkrishkay: a brother of chandler Bing?
[18:12] zubinsaigal: lol
[18:12] djkrishkay:
reneuve
another one from my mailbox ..
"Hi Would like to reneuve for 1 year."
reneuve you say ? i wonder what that is. sounds like a strange thing to do, let alone for a whole year. oh you meant renew .... RIGHT !!
ok.. (maybe he was french thinks kookoo, or wannabe english methinks
)
That Does It!
This did it for me! i had to start blogging now! I mean there is so much a guy can take. Here I am in a complete "Happy Day" mood at office. Awake, despite the obscenely delecious lunch at home (Chinese - I always overeat when I'm having Chinese). Ring!
"Nettigritty"
"Hi I am looking for search engine optimization for my website"
"We aren't taking up an SEO work at the moment. I'm afraid we cant help you there"
"Ok. But can you tell me what I should do"
"Well there is no one i can recommend really - its tricky business, SEO."
"haha (fake nervous laugh, getting on to something) but can you tell me how it is done"
I'm thinking WT*(@& but decide to continue to be nice..
"Err.. well there is a lot that goes into SEO. I can only suggest that you submit your website to directories and search engines. Like I said we are not taking up any SEO work at the moment."
"I'v done that but its not coming. can you tell me what else you used to do when you would do SEO"
more &*&@^&^@(#*
i mean are these dude's for real or does someone pay them to call up ppl and annoy them!